My First day of ESL in Korea

18 Mar

It’s hard to believe that I’ve been doing this ESL thing for six months now. It’s transformed itself from something I do for money to a legitimate job. I go home thinking about ESL, I wake up thinking about ESL and I spend most of my day doing ESL. I’ve made vast improvements in terms of my teaching style over the course of the past couple of months, and I think that within the next six months, I can make the transition to a teacher who is actually decent at his job.

Thinking back to my first days of teaching ESL is pretty nostalgic for me. That feeling was actually surprising because time has flown by so quick that I half expected that those memories were just like my memories of yesterday. But truth is that I’ve grown as an ESL teacher since that time. I understand how to make my students do things while conveying compassion and understanding to them. Some of them do drive me crazy, but at the end of the day, I’m happy with the work that I do.

I have to say that recording this video was a unique experience for me. As I recounted the experiences, it felt like a virtual walk down memory lane. In my mind, I was reliving the experience of being instantly immersed into the world of teaching. I think that whenever I hear the phrase “hit the ground running,” this will be what I remember.

Happy Friday everyone!

4 Responses to “My First day of ESL in Korea”

  1. See March 18, 2010 at 7:29 pm #

    You are not and idiot!! 🙂 I’m sooo glad I listened/watched your explanation because I am super nervous about this whole teaching english thing. But I will let you know how my first day of teaching english goes. 🙂

    • bry0000000 March 18, 2010 at 10:58 pm #

      Thanks for commenting, and I will definitely be interested in hearing about your first day teaching!

  2. Hummingbird Appetite March 22, 2010 at 11:41 pm #

    That’s great that you’re finding your way and becoming more confident at teaching. The experience of teaching in Korea will probably stay with you for the rest of your life. I saw your Korean bbq video. It was Alton Brown-esque, which is a good thing. The fermented soy bean paste you were holding up is called doenjang, pronounced (den-zhang). What you could also do with the meat is marinate it in equal parts soy sauce and sugar with some minced garlic and ginger. (Some people add sesame oil, mirin or chopped scallions.) Marinate the meat for about a half-hour or longer in the fridge. Then saute the meat. In the States, it will cost you $50 to get a Korean BBQ meal, but soy sauce, sugar, garlic and ginger is basically what’s in the marinade. I’m a Korean-American who was born in the States. My mom never used that trick by taking tissue paper and soaking up the grease. But it’s a really good tip. Thanks for sharing.

    • bry0000000 March 30, 2010 at 12:37 pm #

      Hey Hummingbird,

      Sorry it took so long to respond to you! I’ve neglected my blog for too long, but I promise to get better. Thanks for clarifying what that soy bean paste was. I love eating the stuff. My friends and I often make that marinade that you describe above with the sesame oil, garlic and minced ginger. It makes for a great meal.

Leave a Reply

